History of Robertstown G.F.C 

Robertstown G.F.C., situated in the centre of the Parish of Allen, was founded in 1919. It shares the Parish with 3 othe G.A.A. Clubs: Allenwood, Ballyteague and Miltown.                                                                                      The Club won Junior Championships in 1934, 1939, 1980,1983 and 1989 and lost the finals in 2004, 2005 and 2008. Senior League titles were won in 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1989 and 2005. Three Dowling Cups wins were achieved in 2003, 2004, 2005. The club grounds, " Brockagh Park", which is situated on the Brockagh Rd, a quater of a mile from the village.    

Under Age Structures :

Since the early 1970's an amount of time and effort has been put into the development of the Under Age side of the club, starting in the local Primary School where the Boys and Girls are introduced to Gaelic Football and this feeds into the Club.                                                                                                                                                   Many School's Girls Football teams never lost a match at Senior and Under 11 levels.                                          At Club level, Under 14 titles were won in 1980, indeed this was the first time ever that a single Club from the Parish of Allen won a County in 1986 and 1996. However, after this victory, due to a falling population in the area, the Club joined with the other Clubs in the parish at all Under-Age levels and formed Na Fianna.

Thankfully over the past few years many new families have moved into the Robertstown area and this influx of new people has made it possible for the Club to again feild teams at Under 8, Under 10, Under 12, Under 13 and Under 14.                                                                                                                                                                   



Make a Free Website with Yola.